Day 15: Foleying Around

So today’s job was to find sound effects for all the things on our list.

I remembered having downloaded a cute little tool for the mac to make random sound effects in an 8-bit retro game style. The program was cfxr, and it proved to be a huge boon.

D sat and played with it for half-an-hour. As you play, it keeps track of all your attempts so far, so it was easy for him to show me the effects he loved, and we soon had all the list crossed off.

It isn’t so easy to upload sound effects here, so you’ll have to wait for the final reveal (I know, I know). But they are quite fun. Though some of them, I confess, I wouldn’t have guessed if I hadn’t been told!

So sprites, done, sound, done. Onto level design!

Leave a Reply

